The Sims 4 Get Together – Preview

Just one more day for North America and 3 days for Europe until The Sims 4 Get Together is released.

We were lucky enough to get early access to this new expansion pack so we can give you a proper review!
The sims 4 Get Together is an expansion pack that is based on ‘getting together’ with your friends. They have introduced a club system, were you can hang out with like minded Sims.
And there are new venue types that have been added. Like the Bar and the Cafe.
They also introduced a new world Windenburg, this world is based on European features. Let’s get more into that.

Windenburg

I personally LOVE Windenburg. Since I’m from The Netherlands, I can recognize a lot of things in this new world. Though the style is mostly based on Tudor style which is seen in Germany and in the Uk. The combination of old looking buildings and the modern new ones is very interesting and each neighbourhood has it’s own feel to it.

map view of Windenburg

Map view of Windenburg


There are 5 neighbourhoods in Windenburg and what is interesting is that the neighbourhoods are bigger than we have seen in the previous worlds. Some neighbourhoods have 8! lots in them.
The smallest neighbourhood has 5 lots.
There are 2 64×64 lots. Both have residents in them. But you can always move them out and take it yourself. Or play with those households.

When you create a new household you have 2 empty lots to choose from and 3 pre build homes.
Though sometimes it does make it easy to spot when it is likely an American builder build certain European homes. For example this Tudor style starter home:

Original

Original


The hallway extends all the way to the front, yet the front door is into the living room. (Not common in a lot of European houses, or in Tudor styled houses). The entrance should be to the hallway.
And there is no dining table. There could be room in the living room (more modern set up) or get rid of the counter islands and place a dining table there.
I made a layout that made more sense to me in this kind of house. There are just some minor changes.

Remake

Remake

All in all, the world is gorgeous. it has some great neighbourhoods and it is filled with new households.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Bluffs

So far this my favourite spot, especially during sunset. The Bluffs is the home of the natural pool. You can build your own natural pool as well. With the December patch the The Sims team had already added the ability to change water colour. The Sims 4 Get Together adds a few more water colours.

12-05-15_10-13-19 PM

You can now also change the border of the pool. Besides the standard trim, there are 2 more trims added, a narrow stone border and a wider stone border. Both with 5 colour options.

There are also a whole lot of Pool Objects added. We already knew about the diving platforms. There are 3 of them.
But you can now also add bubbles and steam to your pool! So that it gives a mystic or warm ambiance. Just add the ‘bubbles crack’ or ‘UnterSteamer’ to the bottom of your pool and you get a nice look. They are available in a small and bigger version.

12-06-15_7-40-21 PM

Ancient Ruins

The Ancient Ruins is another gorgeous spot. It looks to be a relic of an ancient cathedral and is surrounded by high defense walls.
During the night the walls of the ruins light up in different colours, making it a perfect party spot.

The lot itself however are just behind the ancient ruins. It is a small lot (20×15) and there is practically nothing on it. You can build on it, maybe even a house. You would have a stunning view of the ruins. I hope it’s not haunted though. Though you can not turn it into a residential lot. The lot type is set for Ancient ruins. Same for the Von Haunt Estate and The Bluffs.

12-06-15_8-24-42 PM

12-06-15_8-24-55 PM

Clubs

We have heard a lot about the clubs in the last few trailers, blogs, previews and you name it, about the clubs.
But now we could finally experience it first hand.
There are a few ways to join clubs.

  • Create your own club. Where you set the rules, the name and who can join.
  • Using the ‘clubs’ in the User Interface option. (image below)
  • Talk to a Sim and ask them to join their club.
'Clubs' in User Interface

‘Clubs’ in User Interface

When you are in a club, there are a few activities the club members love to do. If you do any of those activities, your club earns Club Points.
With Club points you can buy Club Perks. These are perks that influence your Sims behaviour while in a club gathering.
2015-12-06 20_49_04-The Sims™ 4

You can start a club gathering when you have joined (or created) a club. It will be in the same menu option as to join a club.

Creating a club

When you go to the club tab in your user interface (bottom right) you can click “Join a Club”. The Club Manager window will appear.
Here you can choose to either join an existing club or create your own.

2015-12-06 20_40_48-The Sims™ 4

When you create your own club, you get to pick a name, club icon, a description, if anyone can join or if Sims with certain traits or age (and a whole lot other options) can join. By invitation or open. What they like to do (those are the activities that earn perks), or what they dislike to do.
Maybe you want to set a hang out as well.

For this purpose I created the ‘Casanovas’ Club. It is a club of Sims that like to sleep, woohoo, flirt and browse the web.
They had no specific hang out.
2015-12-06 20_40_38-The Sims™ 4

Creating a club makes your Sim the club leader. This means your Sim can set or change the club specifics at any time.

When my Sim started a club gathering at her house. The other club members started to show up. They chatted, mostly flirted with each other.
And if they weren’t chatting, they went to places they could sleep. Bench, couch, bed, bush. Where ever. Easiest Club Points earned ever.

Skills, interactions, traits and aspiration

The Sims 4 Get Together adds 1 new aspiration, Leader of the Pack, 2 new traits, “Insider” and “Dance Machine”.
2015-12-06 21_00_20-The Sims™ 4

2015-12-06 21_00_42-The Sims™ 4

2015-12-06 21_01_00-The Sims™ 4

There are 2 new skills, Dance skill, that builds up whenever your Sim dances.
Fun fact, when you have a standing mirror, Sims can practice their dancing in front of the mirror!
And the DJ skill. Turn those tables!

But there are also a whole lot new interactions.
You can “Ask about another Sim” or “Ask to see outfit”.
Your Sims can now also “Share photos”

Build mode

First thing I did when starting the game was, create a new Sim. And right after create their home. I love building in The Sims. And wanted to try out building a Tudor styled home.
Download from the Gallery here

Beaufort Cottage - By Annabelli_22

Beaufort Cottage – By Annabelli_22

Going into build mode I sorted on pack. So I could easily see what was new in The Sims 4 Get Together.
There is a lot! A full list will be added to this official The Sims site.
I tried to use as many new objects in the build as well.

A few things I loved:

Dormers!
There are little dormers you can add on the roof. They can be found in the “roof sculptures” section and you can add them to you roof just like a chimney.
12-06-15_9-22-34 PM

The “Woohoo Bush”. There are 2 versions of this bush. The interactions are the same and in looks they don’t differ much from each other. They don’t have any colour options sadly.
12-06-15_9-26-35 PM

I love the many detail options for build mode. Greens for on the wall, a little birds house. New windows and doors (that match the wall paterns!) and new wall paterns.

New games and gameplay items as well

Don't wake the Llama

Don’t wake the Llama

Foosball

Foosball

Create a Sim

For female and male adult (teen, young adult, adult and elder) there are a lot of new CAS items.

Female:

  • 12 new full body outfits
  • 15 new tops
  • 8 new bottoms (pants and skirts)
  • 5 new bracelets
  • 2 new shoes
  • 8 new hairstyles
  • 2 new hats
  • 2 new necklaces
  • 1 pair of earrings
  • 2 new eyeliners
  • 1 new lipstick

And 3 new ‘Styled looks’!

Male:

  • 4 new full body outfits
  • 15 new tops
  • 3 new bottoms (pants and skirts)
  • 5 new bracelets
  • 4 new shoes
  • 5 new hairstyles
  • 2 new hats

And 2 new ‘Styled looks’

Boys:

  • 3 new full body outfits
  • 5 new tops
  • No new bottoms (pants and skirts)
  • 5 new bracelets
  • 1 new pair of shoes
  • 2 new hairstyles

Girls:

  • 5 new full body outfits
  • 2 new tops
  • No new bottoms (pants and skirts)
  • 5 new bracelets
  • 3 new shoes
  • 4 new hairstyles
  • 1 pair of stockings

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Lebanna

Share This Post On

1 Comment

  1. Can’t wait to midnight to get my hands on this pack! 🙂
    Amazing screenshots btw!!

    Post a Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read previous post:
The Sims 4 December patch

It's patch day! And better yet, it's the previously announced December patch. What is so special about this patch. Well,...

Close